Modern modes are based on the seven intervals between the eight notes in a given scale starting with the first note or "root". Here are the intervals for the seven modern modes starting with the interval between the root and  $2^{nd}$  note of the scale:

Mode Intervals: (T=whole step, s= 1/2 step)

| Ionian (Major): | T-T-s-T-T-S    |
|-----------------|----------------|
| Dorian:         | T-s-T-T-T-s-T  |
| Phrygian:       | s-T-T-T-s-T-T  |
| Lydian:         | T-T-T-s-T-T-s  |
| Mixolydian:     | T-T-s-T-T-s-T  |
| Aeolian:        | T-s-T-T-s-T-T  |
| Locrian:        | s- T-T-s-T-T-T |

## Examples:



